Exploiting Marriage for Fun and Profit

I just saw this on TPM:

Sue Everhart, chairwoman of the Georgia Republican Party, told the Marietta Daily Journal in a story published Saturday that once gay nuptials are legally permitted, there will be nothing to stop a straight person from exploiting the system in order to claim marital benefits.

“You may be as straight as an arrow, and you may have a friend that is as straight as an arrow,” Everhart said. “Say you had a great job with the government where you had this wonderful health plan. I mean, what would prohibit you from saying that you’re gay, and y’all get married and still live as separate, but you get all the benefits? I just see so much abuse in this it’s unreal. I believe a husband and a wife should be a man and a woman, the benefits should be for a man and a woman. There is no way that this is about equality. To me, it’s all about a free ride.”

So what’s to stop a straight man and woman from doing the same thing now?

I’ll tell you what. Being married to someone is not necessarily all about benefits. Yes there are savings in health care, and marrieds have an advantage when filing taxes.

But, if your spouse incurs debts, you may be liable for those debts. If he or she runs over a pedestrian, guess who is suddenly part of a lawsuit? I once heard a horror story about a fellow whose wife ran up all their credit cards to feed her cocaine habit, and left him with $50K worth of debts. I trust my wife not to do that, but not some woman, or man, I only see now and then.

Do these people think at all before speaking?

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Exploiting Marriage for Fun and Profit”

  1. Overreach THIS! says :

    Hi, Donal.

    It’s just perfectly classic aggressive prejudice.

    Once we give women the vote, they can go out and vote for some idiot!!

    {Sigh}

    O.T.

    Like

  2. cmaukonen says :

    I remember reading about a situation not long ago where a couple got divorced because staying married was just too expensive for either of them.

    Like

