Pizzeria Rumor False

While following a link to RumorMillNews for something else, I ran across a story about a pizzeria owner refusing to give Mayor Bloomberg another slice of pizza for his own good. I’d never been to that site before, but it is rife with conspiracy articles.

The article was very funny. In fact it was so funny, I assumed it couldn’t possibly be real. After a little digging, I found out that, Bloomberg Refused Second Slice of Pizza at Local Restaurant, was originally posted on The Daily Currant, a satirical news site in the vein of the Onion, or my former coblogger Wolfrum:

The owners of Collegno’s Pizzeria say they refused to serve him more than one piece to protest Bloomberg’s proposed soda ban, which would limit the portions of soda sold in the city.

“OK, that’s funny,” he remarked, “because of the soda thing … No come on. I’m not kidding. I haven’t eaten all morning, just send over another pepperoni.”

“I’m sorry sir. We’re serious,” Benito insisted. “We’ve decided that eating more than one piece isn’t healthy for you, and so we’re forbidding you from doing it.”

Had this really happened, owners, employees and customers of the pizzeria would have been stopped and frisked in perpetuity.

RumorMillNews doubled down with a call for locals to support the pizzeria. I wonder if they realize yet that they’ve been had.

Tags: , , ,

