Stabbed Not Shot

I got a taste of the shiny new gun bug last weekend. My stepdaughter and her son came a-visiting. Her husband had gone to a gun show, “up the mountain.” They all own guns and she was telling us how she won a 9mm pistol at that show one year. Something inside me lurched a bit, and my wife – her mother – looked at me and said, “You’re jealous, aren’t you?” Yeah, I was. Even though I have no use for a gun, and can’t carry one here in MD anyway, I do understand the appeal.

So today I got out of a meeting to read that a sixteen-year-old student at Franklin Regional High School in Murrysville PA (near Pittsburgh) knifed nineteen – mostly students with some faculty members. Though most attacks led to extremity injuries, seven victims suffered life-threatening injuries to organs in the torso, and are in surgery. No one has died as of this writing, though.

How many would already be dead if he had been shooting two 9mm semiauto pistols? Fortunately he only brought knives. Blocking a point-blank bullet is almost impossible; a knife thrust from an amateur can be survivable.

Of course if I had won a gun and I had been there, I’d have saved the day. Or shot my own foot. Or shot some kid getting stabbed.

Dmitri Orlov added this paragraph to his latest collapse post, Business As Usual:

The US has spectacular and ever-higher levels of gun ownership, along with the use of antidepressants and antipsychotics. It also has a large, well-armed military, which isn’t very good at achieving policy objectives, but is very good at killing civilians, having killed hundreds of thousands of them in places such as Iraq and Afghanistan, as well as those dozens of countries the US has invaded over the decades. This military will have to be brought back home due to lack of resources. If this weren’t enough, the police in the US is already highly militarized. Throw in the narcocartels, which, as I predicted previously, are diversifying away from drugs and into all sorts of other lucrative activities. Add to this already volatile mix a large set of long-standing grievances, over racial discrimination and other injustices. Make the antidepressants and antipsychotics unavailable, throw everyone out of a job, destroy every last vestige of hope in a brighter future and what do you get? That’s right, a hail of bullets. Those who think that they will be able to stand their ground and defend their homestead need to realize that this is not for amateurs. Dispensing violence is a profession …

Tags:

One response to “Stabbed Not Shot”

  1. trkingmomoe says :

    True so very true.

    Like

