Hodding Carter on Snowden

I vaguely remember Hodding Carter III from President Carter’s administration – mostly because of his first name and Nawlins accent. In, Glenn Greenwald, I’m sorry: Why I changed my mind on Edward Snowden, he briefly describes in Salon how he came to see the Snowden revelations as valuable, despite the mainstream media’s disapproval.

And then I changed my mind, though God knows the generally uninspiring media reaction was not responsible. It is hard even now to fully appreciate how many press commentaries either saluted the official line or fell back on patronizing, snide dismissals of Snowden’s character and intelligence. Those who supported him were few and far between, though vigorous in their support. Among them were The New Yorker, The Guardian, The Washington Post, Vanity Fair, McClatchy newspapers, and Knight Ridder. To others overlooked in that summary listing, my apologies. Those who decided to go forward with their coverage deserve sustained public applause. They took significant chances when they pressed the print button and revealed the NSA’s dirty linen. Of no less importance, they sounded the alarm, warning the American people anew of how much further down the road to an all-intrusive garrison state Washington had ventured.

I stopped reading quite a few blogs after they immediately attacked Snowden. I am less than thrilled that he is currently favoring Rand Paul, but I still think he did the right thing in blowing the whistle on the NSA.

Tags: ,

