Clean Burst of D

Just after Thanksgiving I needed laundry detergent. I usually get the Seventh Generation in the recyclable cardboard container, but I didn’t see it at the Shoppers supermarket. They did have Arm and Hammer, but unfortunately I grabbed a plastic container with a blue cap instead of the clear cap my wife uses at our house. Clear cap is their fragrance-free Essentials. Blue cap turned out to be their Clean Burst product.

On Skype my wife told me to take it back, but I figured I’d just pay more attention the next time. Bad move. Within a few weeks I noticed a musty smell throughout the apartment. I had recently cleaned out moldy dryer lint, and at first I thought there was a new growth somewhere, but it was actually the perfume from the Clean Burst. The stuff is pervasive. On a holiday visit, as soon as I walked in the door at our house both my wife and stepson complained about the smell surrounding me. He is immune-compromised and very sensitive to perfumes and chemicals wafting into our yard from neighboring dryer vents. She washed my clothing repeatedly – rinsing with vinegar – and got some of the smell out.

But Clean Burst was also irritating to my skin. When I wore freshly-laundered clothing, I felt wisps of something across my face and hands. Later I felt pinpricks as if something was breaking out of, or into, my skin. Environmental Working Group (EWG) gives Clean Burst a D rating with moderate concerns for cancer, respiratory effects and skin irritation. The Arm and Hammer Essentials perfume-free version my wife uses gets a C rating, but thought it had no awful smell, I still felt some irritation from the clothing she laundered.

Though I never had a reaction to it, EWG also gives the Seventh Generation liquid detergent I used before a D rating – though for different concerns. EWG’s top ratings go to products I haven’t used, but will certainly try.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Clean Burst of D”

  1. saywhatumean2say says :

    Better Late than Never? Oh my donal….life is so awful with just that almost noticeable odor and my life is constant itching and snuffling! When your wife says take it back, take it back. I hesitate to try to find the detergent that we use information and grade. You make such vivid points and describe so many things I’ve grown accustom to, I love reading your posts and will probably go to a “site” and try to find a better soap. My house is probably bigger than your apartment BUT my low detergent, low water use, supposedly high efficiency washer JUST POSITIVELY STINKS, most of the time, I itch. Damn those Germans for their efficiency in production and no respect for US EPA laws. hee hee…… dru (sister)

    Like

